Take me out dancing, dancing in the rain

30 Dec

Thought it might be a tough one today to find something that made me happy, as all I had lined up was a day at work.  But part way through the morning I got the offer of coffee with a lovely friend, and by early afternoon had an evening of wine and good company planned with another lovely friend.  The easy option in that gap in between several coffees and moving on to wine, would have been to batten down the hatches, stick on some music and kick back.  But unless things have changed, I think there are still only 7 days in a week – which meant with a parkrun planned for tomorrow morning, if I was to get in my four sessions of exercise per week I needed to get my arse out and hit the streets  – in a running way, not in a cheap hooker way.

I’d also promised myself that I’d do a hill session – see how I treat myself to the good things in life – and a hill session it would be.  So it was through the door, quick fuss of the dog (I mean Ed, that isn’t a euphamism) and kit on.  Wasn’t looking forward to it as it was absolutely tipping it down – still is in fact – and I suspected I may get interrupted on the run by a modern day Noah looking for wood for his Ark.  But while I was out I discovered a strange thing, something I’d not realised before – I like running in the rain.  Really liked it.  This is a good thing because:

  1. I don’t live on the west coast of America or New Zealand
  2. I do live in England
  3. It rains.
  4. It rains A LOT.

Whether this liking was because the coolness of the water helped counter the overheating of my system and took me to a non-spontaneous combustion risk level or whether its just because there is something odd in my head, but it felt great to be plodding along with the rain dripping down my face, my feet splashing in puddles, cars swooshing past with the passengers cocooned in their dry yet somehow dull insides.  I not only managed a hill session, but I added in an extra mile so did several climbs plus a final flat to cover 4 miles.

So today’s ‘things that make me happy’ is my soaking wet kit – not only for discovering my new love of running in the rain, but also because it shows my focus is coming back and instead of making excuses to sit and do nothing, I got out there and ran.

Now – bring on the wine!

Soggy Kit

 

 

5 Responses to “Take me out dancing, dancing in the rain”

  1. Vanessa Hollis December 30, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    I still disappointed that I wasn’t one of the things that made you happy today. I was looking forward to seeing my picture on here.

    I love running in the rain too.

    • sharonb0087 December 30, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

      you can be in my sub-category of ‘TTMMHBIDTAP’ – things that make me happy but I didn’t take a photo!! you did get an honoury mention as ‘lovely friend’!!

  2. Christine Wood December 30, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    well done you!!!! Like I said earlier, I read a running magazine…..does that count as a session?? Probably not! But I am inspired. Im even joining a Beginners Running Group in a couple of weeks time to get me started. xx

  3. Christine Wood December 30, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    email me when more blogs appear but keep putting the link on fb as I dont check email much xx

    • sharonb0087 December 30, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

      I’ll still post link on facebook, don’t worry. Beginners running group is good idea, but the joy of running is that you can just go when the feeling takes you and you don’t need anything more than a decent pair of trainers. you will be hooked!

Leave a Reply

